St. Timothy Awards honor outstanding local youths

Friday, May 24, 2019 - Updated: 1:10 pm

Pittsburgh Catholic Staff Report

Twelve youths in the Diocese of Pittsburgh were recognized May 6 for exemplifying the qualities of moral integrity, prayerfulness, good works and Christian leadership.

Retired Auxiliary Bishop William Winter presented St. Timothy Awards to the young people during a dinner at St. Paul Seminary.

The awards are given annually to those who show zeal for their youth ministry program, high school ministry team or youth work in general.

The following teens were chosen as 2019 St. Timothy Award winners:

Cullen Barnes of the parish grouping that includes Holy Sepulcher in Glade Mills and St. Kilian in Adams/Cranberry townships.

Kevin Carranza, Holy Rosary in Muse, Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal in Meadow Lands and St. Patrick in Canonsburg.

Jack Eastly, Good Samaritan in Ambridge, St. John the Baptist in Baden, SS. John and Paul in Franklin Park/Marshall Township and Our Lady of Peace in Conway.

Jennifer Guinee, a student at Seton LaSalle High School, St. Bernard in Mount Lebanon and Our Lady of Grace in Scoot Township.

Amber Jones, Holy Angels in Pittsburgh’s Hays neighborhood, Holy Apostles in South Pittsburgh and St. Sylvester in Brentwood.

Bailey McCormick, a Quigley Catholic High School student, St. Cecilia in Rochester, St. Felix in Freedom, Holy Family in New Brighton and SS. Peter and Paul in Beaver.

Emily Price, a student at Quigley Catholic High School, St. Alexis and St. Alphonsus in Wexford.

Julie Scheffler, St. Joseph in O’Hara Township, St. Juan Diego in Sharpsburg, St. Pio of Pietrelcina in Blawnox/Harmar and St. Scholastica in Aspinwall.

Mary-Kate Schratz, a St. Joseph High School student, Holy Sepulcher and St. Kilian.

Timothy Smith, a Central Catholic High School student, St. John Capistran in Upper St. Clair and St. Thomas More in Bethel Park.

Thomas Strother, a student at Central Catholic High School, Immaculate Heart of Mary in Pittsburgh’s Polish Hill neighborhood, St. Maria Goretti in the Bloomfield/Friendship/Garfield neighborhoods and Our Lady of the Angels in the city’s Lawrenceville neighborhood.

Rebecca Sullivan, a Serra Catholic High School student, St. Angela Merici in White Oak, Corpus Christi in McKeesport/Versailles and St. Robert Bellarmine in East McKeesport.

The award selection committee included Father Michael Ackerman, Christopher Chapman, Judene Indovina, Dr. Greta Stokes Tucker, Jorge Vela, Deacon Richard Wertz and Jacob Williamson.

Bishop Zubik's Columns

Current Magazine

Click here to see, download more issues

Current Magazine
Current Magazine

Click here to see, download more issues

Most Popular