Students in Catholic schools receive $1,000 scholarships

Thursday, July 18, 2019 - Updated: 3:05 pm

The Carson Scholars Fund recently honored exceptional students in Pittsburgh-area schools at an awards banquet at Heinz Field. Many of the students, who received $1,000 scholarships, are from Catholic schools in the Diocese of Pittsburgh.

Carson Scholars are individuals in grades 4-11 who display outstanding academic achievement (at least a 3.75 GPA) and humanitarian qualities.

The fund is a nonprofit charity founded by Dr. Benjamin Carson and his wife, Candy, dedicated to cultivating future leaders.

This year, 17 students attending Catholic schools in the Diocese of Pittsburgh were named Carson Scholars for the first time. They are:

Leyu Belachew, East Catholic; Grace Cammarata, Oakland Catholic; Henry Catanzarite, St. Monica Catholic; Meghan Cavender, Our Lady of Fatima; Elizabeth Dacanay, Quigley Catholic;

Joseph DeMoss, Mary of Nazareth; Kyliegh Donnelly, St. Sylvester; Tyler Fontana, St. Joseph High; Katherine Helwick, Sacred Heart; Louisa Jen, Providence Heights Alpha; Charity Lucas, St. Wendelin;

Aaron Ragan, St. Therese; Grace Ravenstahl, St. Philip; Maura Schorr, St. Gabriel; Madeline Sclichter, Christ the Divine Teacher; Adam Sipe, Central Catholic; Abby Wertz, St. Margaret.

The following students in local Catholic schools were named as Recognized Carson Scholars for being honored multiple times:

Theodore Almeter, Serra Catholic; Makaylah Ballard, Bishop Canevin; Morgan Boyd, Serra Catholic; William Collins, Christ the Divine Teacher; David Collins, Central Catholic;

Patrick Connell, Northside Catholic Assumption; Emily Costantino, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart; Liam Cringle, Central Catholic; Sarah Davison, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart;

Ava Dzurenda, Serra Catholic; Zachary Esch, Seton LaSalle; Isabella Florian, Oakland Catholic; Ryan Gedman, Serra Catholic; Kieran Gorman, Seton LaSalle; Alexandra Hall, Bishop Canevin;

Jessica Huwar, Oakland Catholic; Lauren Kirsch, Bishop Canevin; William Koloc, Central Catholic; Kayla Kraeuter, Serra Catholic; Hannah Lacek, Seton LaSalle; Darius Legleitner, Bishop Canevin;

Aidan Madjerich, Central Catholic; Drake Maguire, Central Catholic; Lauren Makovics, Serra Catholic; Charlie Massaro, Central Catholic; Catrina Mauler, Oakland Catholic;

Bailey McCormick, Quigley Catholic; Adeline Meinert, Seton LaSalle; Matthew Michaux, Seton LaSalle; Ashley Mineard, Quigley Catholic; Madison Morrone, Oakland Catholic; Emily Nichols, St. Joseph High;

Hannah Niklason, Oakland Catholic; Thomas O’Toole, North Catholic; Christina Patterson, Vincentian Academy-Duquesne University; Briana Patterson, Bishop Canevin; Luke Phillips, North Catholic;

Brody Porter, St. Joseph High; Alexis Riske, Seton LaSalle; Christopher Samek, Central Catholic; Brendan Shantz, North Catholic; Dani Short, North Catholic; Brandon Skalniak, Seton LaSalle;

Isabella Thomeier, Bishop Canevin; Mara Tucci, Seton LaSalle; Tessa Twyman, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart; Mae Twyman, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart; Janneselle Nicole Umalin, Bishop Canevin;

Rachel Voelker, St. Wendelin; Faith Whitley, Seton LaSalle; Ella Wrabley, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart; Alivia Wright, Oakland Catholic; Marina Zdarko, Oakland Catholic.

Bishop Zubik's Columns

Current Magazine

Click here to see, download more issues

Current Magazine
Current Magazine

Click here to see, download more issues

Most Popular